The Beatles are still rockin’ American Idol

ai1.jpg

I’ve never been a huge Beatles fan, so I have to admit I’m just about at my limit for Beatles songs on American Idol.  And yet, supposedly by popular demand (though I think it has a whole lot more to do with some contractual obligation than actual audience requests), it’s another week of Beatles songs on American Idol.  Fair enough, let’s get on with the show.  We’re down to 11 finalists, and two hours, which means, of course…lots of filler.

 A little background on who the Beatles were (just in case we’ve all been living under a VERY large rock), some of that oh so not funny back and forth between Ryan and the judges, and it’s on to the singing.

 Amanda Overmeyer is first with “Back in the U.S.S.R.”, you all know how I feel about this girl by now, so let’s see if she can win me over. Seriously?  NO.  I mean, really, come on folks, why is this girl still on this show?  Somebody explain it to me, because I just don’t get it.  Take all the audio from all the songs she’s done to date, put them up against each other and tell me if you can tell a difference, because to me, it doesn’t matter what song she’s singing, she always sounds exactly the same, and she does NOT have a good singing voice.  It’s not that she’s bad, it’s just that she’s nothing above average.  I just don’t get it.  Close your eyes, take in the audio…hear what I’m saying?  NOT there.  Finally the judges seem to be taking the earmuffs off and actually hearing what I hear.  Simon actually said “same thing week after week after week”…couldn’t agree more.

Next up is the girl who in my opinion escaped elimination by sheer luck last week, Kristi Lee Cook.  She’s tackling “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” a song she’d never even heard before (uh, me neither).  She started off fairly well, and just when I was beginning to think “Hmm…maybe she’s not as bad as I thought”, she lost me.  Didn’t love it.  And you know when Paula complements the way you look, you had a bad performance.

I’m going to completely leave alone her bad choice of words when telling Simon she could blow his socks off…at least, I think that’s what she meant.  Uh…yeah, skipping that.

David Archuletta, who butchered the lyrics on his last attempt at the Beatles, is up next with “The Long and Winding Road”.  And YES, he’s back in full form.  This kid just has an amazing voice, and I’m so glad he survived last week to come back with this performance.  I still love him.  Love him!  LOVE.HIM!  That’s it, that’s all I have to say.

And now we’re doing iphone commercials right in the middle of the show?  Seriously??  Seriously??

Up next is Michael Johns with “A Day in the Life”.  He started off and I thought, “perfect song choice”, it worked well with his voice, his style…then there was this weird thing in the middle, and I’m not really sure how I felt about that…but then he went back to the same stuff I liked from the beginning and got me back. So, overall, kind of a weird arrangement, but I really liked the beginning and he end.  When he was good, he was really good, but unfortunately, it wasn’t good all the way through.

And now it’s Brooke White, with “Here Comes the Sun”.  This girl has a thing for starting off a song sitting on stairs, doesn’t she?  It was alright.  I mean, she has a great voice, but I just thought it was a bit boring. (I just said in Simon’s voice and accent in my head).  But yeah, she sounded good, but it was just alright for me.  And that ugly yellow dress with banana looking ruffles dangling from it? Not pretty.  And I’m not sure how much I buy the innocent, accepting “it’s okay, it’s okay” act after the judges comments either.  But that’s just me being cynical, isn’t it?

 Next up was David Cook with “Day Tripper”.  It’s been brought to my attention that I was way off base last week with my thoughts about his performance, and that I haven’t given him a fair chance so tonight, I decided to try and do just that.  I was going to close my eyes and just listen, but before I had the opportunity to do so, he stared singing, and pulled me in wihthout me having to do so.  Maybe it was the song I didn’t love last week…because I thought he sounded amazing tonight.  This was reminiscent of 3 Doors Down or even my favorite favorite band Lifehouse, and I loved it.  Of course, Simon hated it…so, I guess we’re on different pages.

Carly Smithson with “Blackbird” is next.  I love this girl.  I think she has an amazing voice, and incredible control of that voice.  She sounded fantastic, and it was a beautiful performance.  Love her.

Next is Jason Castro, the boy with an angelic voice (in my opinion).  His song this week is “Michelle”, can he handle the bi-lingual-ity of it all?  I like what he was trying to do, stepping away from the folksy stuff to show a different side, and overall, it wasn’t bad.  There was some awkwardness in the beginning, but toward the end, I thought it got better.  Not his best peformance for sure, and I didn’t even get to enjoy his voice like I have in the past, but I still like him a lot.

Syesha Mercado next on stage with “Yesterday”.  I thought it was beautiful.  Simple, powerful, clean, and beautiful.  Loved it.

Chikezie is next.  Chikezie!  You gotta love this guy’s name!  Tonight he is singing “I’ve just seen a face”, using a harmonica for the first time ever.  You know what?  I actually really enjoyed this performance.  I thought he sounded great.  I loved the slow start, he sounded great, the harmonica was a bit weird, and the country jig in the middle was kind of strange too, but then it turned almost rocker toward the end, and I loved that.  It was kind of strange, but at the same time, I kind of liked it.  It was fun.  However, when Simon said “gimicky”, I kind of had to agree.

And last up we have Ramiele Malubay with “I Should Have Known Better”.  She’s adorable, and has a great voice, but I’m not sure this song was the best choice for her.  Or maybe it’s just that these aren’t the best song choices for me…I’m pretty much done with the Beatles, I think.  She sounded great though, with the song she chose anyway.  It’s not as if she was off tune, or pitchy or anything of that sort, she just didn’t wow me.

So, bottom three this week? Amanda Overmeyer (please), Kristi Lee Cook (I mean, honestly?) and hmm…I hate to say it but it could be Ramiele Malubay.  Though, it could also be Chikezie.  Or sadly, Jason Castro…Then again, this is American Idol, and we all know with the audience voting, it could be anyone.

For me, going home would have to be either Amanda or Kristi.

One response to “The Beatles are still rockin’ American Idol

  1. I love the Beatles, really I do and that made last night even harder to handle because it was another chance for people to destroy good songs. We seem to be on the same page for the most part…my review of last night is posted right beneath my WW for the week.

Leave a Reply

