Inspire me – American Idol Top 8

Tonight’s theme for American Idol is “Inspirational songs”

The show kicks off with Michael Johns singing Aerosmith’s “Dream On”.  This is the stuff he excells at, and I tought he did a pretty good job with it.  That said, his attempt at “mimicking” Steven Tyler toward the end of the song was dangerous.  Still, I thought overall it was a good performance.

Sidebar – WHAT IN HELL was Paula wearing??  Her poor breasts were SCREAMING for freedom…yikes.

Next up, Syesha Mercado, singing “I Believe” by Fantasia.  Anytime a contestant sings a former Idol’s song, they get grief for it, and she already got grief last week for doing a Whitney song, so was this a brave or a stupid choice?  I thought it was a fantastic performance, and really think she pulled it off, however, as expected, she got grief from the judges.

Jason Castro is singing a “ukelele” version of “Over the Rainbow”.  (yes, you read that right).  I still love this kid, and think he’s got a special quality about him and about his voice.  I know that whenever his album comes out after this show is over, I will likely grab it, because the type of music he is sure to release, will be right up my alley.  Not everyone will love his style, but I love him.

Nine Lives  uh, Kristi Lee Cook is up next, singing “Anyway” by Martina McBride.  Look, it’s no secret that I haven’t been a fan of hers from the beginning, and thought she should have gone home a long time ago.  That said, I thought she was FANTASTIC tonight.  She sounded great and this was the perfect song choice for her.  Bonus points to Kristi Lee…

Next up is David Cook with “Innocent” by Our Lady of Peace.  Well, I have to admit, he confused the hell out of me with this one.  I didn’t get the beginning…not sure what the heck he was doing with his voice. Once he got going though, it was a good performance…but I think it’s finally hppened, he’s let his “over confidence” take over, and there was just something smarmy and cocky about this performance thatI didn’t like.  He wasn’t as good as he thought he was.  Still love the guy, but just didn’t love this one.

Carly Smithson singing “Show Must Go On” by Queen next.  I enjoyed this performance.  I’ve always liked her voice, and I think she chooses great songs to showcase her voice.  This was no different.  Yet, I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, I think the judges have an agenda to get her out of the show, due to the controversy of her having had a “record deal” prior to this show.  I honestly am either watching a different show than the judges, or they have an agenda to get her out.  That’s all I’ll say.

And next is little David, Archuletta that is.  Singing “Angels”, one of my favorite songs.  I thought he did a really good job with it, and actually reminded me a bit why I like him so much.  Loved it.

And lastly, it’s Brooke White with Carole King’s “You’ve Got a Friend”.  This song has a lot of personal significance to me, so I wasexpecting to be highly critical of it.  However, I enjoyed her interpretation of it, and thought she did a fairly good job.  Still, I’m never overly excited by her performances, she just bores me silly.

 And that’s it, that’s the Top 8.  Tomorrow night is the big Idol Gives Back show, and I will definitely be watching, but haven’t decided yet if I will blog it.  Either way,  will certainly be back on Thursday with the results. 

 

3 responses to “Inspire me – American Idol Top 8

  1. Missed the show (as usual)… but I’m watching it vicariously throught you

  2. Sounds like we were pretty much in agreement for the show. I do think they are trying to push Carly out, but last night she did have a few tough spots, still I love her, and David A, really knocked my slippers off last night, whereas David C, not so much.
    I won’t be home tonight so will miss the show. Last chance to get downtown before the filming for the Johnny Depp movie starts, and I have a Boy Scout meeting.

  3. hmm so perhaps you agree with me. how did you like Jericho?

Leave a Reply

