The Phanthom of the Idol

It’s time for the top six to do their thing with the music of Andrew Lloyd Webber…it’s Broadway on Idol folks.

Syesha Mercado is up first, singing “One Rock N’ Roll Too Many”.  I loved this performance.  She had loads of fun with it, and it was fun to watch.  She had a couple of “pitchy dawg” spots, but overall sounded pretty good.  I really enjoyed it.

Up next is Jason Castro singing “Memories”, which, by the way, is one of my ALL TIME favorite songs.  I actually think his style and voice is perfect for this song, and I though he nailed it.  There was a bit of an expectation that it would “take off” and it never did, but I didn’t think it was nearly as bad as the judges seemed to think.  I didn’t “love it”, but I certainly didn’t hate it.

Brooke White was next singing “You Must Love Me” from Evita.  OOOH, and she butchers it, and actually asks the band to start over.  I believe the bell has tolled for this girl.  And here’s the thing, this is probably her first performance that I actually liked.  I’ve never been a Brooke fan, and don’t get the fascination the judges have with her, but this performance felt a bit more real than any of her other ones.  That said, will America forgive her blunder at the beginning?

Now, let me just quickly ask you all a question…if it had been Carly Smithson who butchered the lyric and stopped and started again, would Simon and Randy been as “accepting” of it, or would they have shred her to pieces?  I’m just sayin’.

David Archuletta is next, how will he fare with Broadway and “Think of Me”.  Will he keep his eyes open long enough to make it through the song?  He sounded fantastic, as usual, if a bit predictable in his delivery.  And he did manage to keep his eyes open…well…sort of…a bit more than usual at least.  It was another great “little David” performance.

And then it’s time for Cinderella herself, Carly Smithson, singing “Jesus Christ Superstar”.  LOVED. IT.  LOVED. IT.  That’s it, that’s all I have to say.  I’m not even going to comment on how the judges had to sneak in negative comments even when saying they love it.  Nope, I’m just going to say: LOVED. IT!

And last, but most certainly not least it’s David Cook with “The Music of the Night” from Phanthom.  This is a tough one for me.  I was kind of all over the place with it.  I hated it in parts, and I absolutely loved it in other parts.  I think overall, I really liked it though.  He stepped outside of his “rock boy” persona, and really did deliver a “broadway” performance.  I just don’t think I see him as a broadway performer in any way, shape or form, so it was weird for me.

Still, he’s undoubtedly safe this week, as is Archuletta.  I think this week Carly could also find herself safe, but it could be Syesha as well.  I think Brooke White and Jason Castro will find themselves in the bottom two, and Brooke will go home.

But then, I could be totally wrong about every single one of those predictions, because this IS American Idol. 😉 

 

 

One response to “The Phanthom of the Idol

  1. I’ve come to rely on you for my results show run down so I can get to bed on time. I find myself sitting here refreshing your site, impatiently waiting as soon as 7 p.m. strikes (my time). Pathetic I know. 😛

Leave a Reply

