Let’s Rock

The theme tonight is the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”, and we are down to the final FOUR.  Two weeks left to go.  I’m kind of at the point where I’m not all that invested in any of the contestants anymore, so I’m just excited that this means two weeks until “So You Think You Can Dance” begins!

But back to American Idol for now. 

David Cook is up first with “Hungry Like The Wolf” by Duran Duran.  Well…so, it was good, but eh.  It wasn’t a “wow” for me, but it was good.  Just kind of eh…

Syesha is next and once again, she’s chosen a MAJOR song, by a MAJOR artist.  This time it’s Tina Turner’s “Proud Mary”.  Overall, I think she did a great job.  She sounded great, and looked like she was having a blast on stage.  But again, she chose a major song, by a major artist, so, again, she was setting herself up for the audience to shoot her down.  Still, I thought it was a great performance.

Next up is Jason Castro singing Bob Marley’s “I Shot The Sheriff”.  Oh Jason…you lost me with this one.  I completely didn’t get this performance…AT ALL.  And I’m a Jason fan.  But this one?  Yeah, it didn’t work for me.

David Archuletta is going to sing Ben E. King’s “Stand By Me” (which I LOVE).  Well then.  Here’s the little David I loved in the beginning.  I thought this was a fantastic performance by him.  I’ve been bored with him recently, but tonight, I loved this.  Great job by him.

David Cook’s second song is “Baba O’Reilly” by The Who.  This is how I love his voice the most.  When he does that gutteral soulful singing, he sounds so much like Jason Wade (the lead singer of lifehouse) that I can’t help but be sucked right in.  I loved it.

For her second turn at bat, Syesha chose “A Change is Gonna Come” by Sam Cook.  Wow, she sounded amazing.  I think Syesha put it all out on the line tonight, and showcased her amazing vocals.  I don’t know what Randy was listening to, but she was amazing.

Jason Castro is up again with Boby Dylan’s “Mr. Tambourine Man”.  Wait…did he just forget his lyrics?  He did, didn’t he?  Even aside from the lyric snaffu…I didn’t love it.  Jason lost his magic for me tonight.  I’ve never believed from the beginning that he should win it, but I’ve loved “something” about him.  But tonight, he lost it completely for me. 

And David Archuletta closes out the show with Elvis Presley’s “Love Me Tender”.  This was a very sweet performance, and I thought his voice sounded incredible.  Very beautiful.

So, who will go home this week?  In my not so humble opinion, it should be Jason Castro, but because all the little teenage girls who vote LOVE him and his dreads, I think Syesha could be in danger of going home.  I DO NOT think she should go home, mind you, but I think she might.

I still believe it’ll be a battle of the David’s at the end of it all.

2 responses to “Let’s Rock

  1. i hope jason goes. i wanted to strangle him through the tv set for butchering those songs. okay i wanted to strangle him for PICKING those songs in the first place. really? i shot the sheriff? good grief. i have to agree with you on this week, please let jason go bye-bye

Leave a Reply

