The Top Three Sing Times Three

Tonight the Idols sing a song of their own choosing, a song chosen for them by the judges and one chosen by the producers.  There are only three left, how will they do?

David Archuletta kicks off the show with Paula Abdul’s choice for him “And So It Goes” by Billy Joel.  This was simply a beautiful performance from Little David.  I just thought he sounded wonderful, and it was just simply beautiful.  Loved it.

Next up was Syesha, who would be singing “If I Ain’t Got You” by Alicia Keys, selected for her by Randy Jackson.  Another big song, by another big artist, but she didn’t choose it this time, so the judges can’t crack on her for that at least.  Eh…it was…eh.  I mean, she sounded great, but she didn’t do anything particularly unique with it, and she didn’t “grab me”.  It wasn’t bad, but it was just EH for me.

David Cook’s first song is Roberta Flack’s “First Time Ever I Saw Your Face”, chosen by Simon.  Okay, let’s just put it out there…this kid is incredible.  I LOVED LOVED LOVED this performance.  He rocked it.  Amazing!

And then it was time for David A. to tell us what his own choice was.  He picked “With You” by Chris Brown.   Something about hearing the word “Boo” coming out of Little David’s mouth was just weird.  And then he fogot the lyrics too.  Not good Little David, not good.  It’s way too late in the game to be forgetting your lyrics.  Other than that, it was an okay performance.  Not great, not very original or all that interesting, but okay.

Syesha chose Peggy Lee’s “Fever” for her second song.  Using a “chair” as a prop, she delivered a steamy performance.  I hate to sound like a broken record but, much like her first performance, I thought it was…EH.  Again, she has a beautiful voice, and she sounded great, but…eh.

David Cook’s own song choice?  “Dare You To Move” by Switchfoot.  I thought he had a little bit of a rocky start, but once he picked up, he was fantastic.  The thing about David Cook for me is that he has the type of voice and sound that I just love, so I’m loving this kid and can’t wait until he has his own band and albums out.  This performance?  It was okay.

David Archuletta’s “Producers pick” is “Longer” by Dan Fogelbert.  Snore.  ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.  It could have been the song choice.  It could have been his performance.  Likely it was a combination of both.  Archuletta has a good voice, and like Randy says, he can sing anything, but I was bored.

Syesha’s final song tonight was “Hit Me Up” by Gia Farrell.  UGH.  I have a feeling the producers were trying to tell her it was time to go home, because why else would they have picked a song that A) nobody’s ever heard before and B) isn’t that great to begin with?  That said, I thought she did a pretty decent job with it.  But I didn’t love it.

And finally, David Cook covering Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing”.  I loved it.  It wasn’t as good as his first one tonight, but I loved it.  I thought he rocked it.  And again, I LOVE this kid.

So, predictions?  I’ve said it all along, and will say it again…it’ll be a battle of the David’s at the end.  Syesha is going home tomorrow night.

And while we’re on the subject of predictions…who do you think will take the whole thing?  In my opinion, it should go to David Cook, but I think either David could take it, because it is all about the fans calling in.  What do you think?

2 responses to “The Top Three Sing Times Three

  1. I live on the West Coast, so I have to wait until the show is over out here to read your recaps! We currently have 2 cell phones and 1 land line being used by 3 people (myself, my husband, and my stepdaughter) to phone in as many votes as we can for David Cook. David C. ROCKS!

  2. Ah yes, like her, but time for her to go. Farewell Syesha…I’m SURE we’ll hear from her in the future!

    David vs. David. Archie vs. Cook. It scares me to think of all the screaming 13 yr. olds with their warp speed texting abilities voting over and over and over again for Archie. DC SHOULD win. But WILL he win? Who the hell knows.

    By now we all know that in this game, it really doesn’t matter if you win or lose, so no matter how it ends up, they’re both winners.

Leave a comment