May the best David win

It’s results night on Idol.  That means two hours of performances, celebrity guests, and all kinds of hoopla before the winner is announced in the last 5 minutes of the two hour show.

We kick off with a performance by the top 12 Idols along with the dancers from So You Think You Can Dance (LOVE THOSE GUYS).

Then it’s the two David’s singing together, in a performance that actually worked really well with the two different styles.

Then it’s time to plug Mike Myers new movie “The Love Guru” with a stupid skit.  Sorry folks, I know a lot of people find this sort of humor funny…it does NOTHING for me.

Another performance, this time by Syesha Mercado, singing with Seal.  I love Seal!  And then it’s Jason Castro singing “Allelluia” which was one of his best performances all season.  I do love this kids voice.

A gift of brand new Ford Escape Hybrids to each of the David’s and the top six girls are “ladies in Red” on stage singing Donna Summer’s hits.  And then Donna Summer herself joins them on stage to sing her new song, and some old ones too.  There was a weird Ryan Seacrest “breakdancing?” moment in there too…but I’m not even sure what that was, so I’m going to just gloss right over that.

Carly Smithson and Michael Johns are next on stage.  All I’m thinking is, who needs to go to the American Idol tour?  We’re getting to watch the whole thing right here, tonight. 

Then there was a bit of Jimmy Kimmel picking on everyone from Simon to Paula to Ryan, and the top six boys take the stage to rock it out a bit to some Bryan Adams songs.  It was during this performance that I decided that David Cook totally threw the contest last night.  I’ve had my suspicions since his second song, but he has been in top form all night tonight again, reminding us why we think he should win it…but last night?  Not so much.  And look, it’s Bryan Adams on stage singing some of his new and old music too.  Hmmm….I think he looks better now than he did when he was younger.

David Cook and ZZ Top singing Sharp Dressed Man?  Really?  That’s just too cool.  I thoght he totally held his own with ZZTop.  How psyched must he have been for that performance?

Then it was Brooke White with…well, I’ll be honest, I wasn’t paying attention at this point, so I’m not sure who she performed with…Graham Nash?  Does that sound right?  It was a very nice “folksy” performance, fitting for Brooke White’s style.

And then it’s the Jonas Brothers (which I’ll admit, I sort of fast forwarded through).  And a skit of some of the “bad” audition moments, (which I’ll admit I totally fast forwarded through).  And then that weirdo kid singing his “Best Friend Forever” song…uh…with a marching band…uh…and cheerleaders?  Uh…right…moving on.

One Republic performing “Apologize” up next.  This I can watch and enjoy.  And little David gets up there to sing it with them, and you know what?  This is kind of the perfect stuff for him to do!  It was great.

Jordan Sparks, the reigning American Idol takes her last “walk”, singing her new single in a very very gold dress.

And the there was this weird, yet, oddly funny skit with Gladys Knight and “the Pips” made up of Ben Stiller, and Jack Black and Robert Downey, Jr.

And Carrie Underwood was next in a DANGEROUSLY short dress.  This girl sure likes to show off those legs, doesn’t she?  Then again, if I had legs like hers, I would too. 

And one last performance by the top 12 before the results are announced.  They’re singing George Michael songs, so, the question is, in keeping with the way the show is going tonight, will George Michael himself be coming out to perform?  Sure enough, there he is.  And wow…um…this man used to be sexy right?  Wow. He still sounded amazing though.

And then, finally, it was time for the results and the announcement…who would it be?  David the Rocker, or Little David the crooner?

And the winner is…David Cook!  The rocker took it after all!!

How about that, for once the “unique” guy won the show.  I’m pretty happy to say I was wrong with my prediction.  Love it.

And that’s all folks…I’d say till January, but let’s just jump right into “So You Think You Can Dance” and “The Bachelorette” shall we?  Till tomorrow night, then.

 

 

2 responses to “May the best David win

  1. I am so thrilled about the outcome. I was sure David A. would take it, but I was really really hoping that David C. would win. The show doesn’t come on for another half hour on the West Coast. I’m looking forward to seeing it.

  2. shocked.
    Didn’t watch the whole thing – doing other things
    but…I pretty much agreed with eveything you said

Leave a Reply

