The Bachelorette – I know one of the Bachelors.

I’ve never watched the reality shows “The Bachelor” and “the Bachelorette” before.  I’ve seen the odd episode here and there, but these “match-making” reality shows just don’t do it for me.  There’s something about going on reality television to supposedly find true love that’s just weird to me.

So, when the new season of The Bachelorette kicked off on Monday, I didn’t watch it.  Even though I had seen Deanna Pappas (the Bachelorette) on the Ellen Degeneres show, and thought she seemed like a sweet girl, and smart girl, so would probably be one of the best bachelorettes to date, I was still not interested in watching the show.

But that all changed tonight because I received an email from a college friend of mine letting me know that we knew one of the bachelors from college.  When I got her email I figured he would be one of the guys we “sort of” knew from the old days, but curiosity got the best of me, and I researched the show online.  Imagine my surprise when I discovered that this particular bachelor was not just someone I “sort of” knew, but was actually someone I knew extremely well!  He was one of the guys we hung out with daily in school.  In fact, I know this guy so well that I’ve got some pretty interesting blackmail photos from a particularly racy game of truth or dare sitting in a box somewhere.  In fact…nah, I won’t share those, not yet anyway.  My cousin PM even sort of dated one of his cousins at one point, and my friend BFF dated one of his best friends for years.  We were all a close-knit group during those years, and although we’ve lost touch through the years, just last week I found him on Facebook and considered inviting him into my circle of friends.  For whatever reason, I never sent out the invite, but now I’m thinking maybe I should have.  We’ll see how much of a fool he makes of himself on this show before we make that decision, shall we?

So, who is this guy?  Which bachelor am I speaking of?  His name is Eric and he’s the 31 year old Senior Analyst from Boston.  One of the two guys who spoke greek to Deanna when he first met her.  The one with the greek parents who want him to marry greek, and are probably already planning the wedding.  That guy.  That guy and I were good friends in college.  And now he’s one of the Bachelors.  How funny is that?  I haven’t spoken to him in nearly 10 years, but back then we were all a pretty tight crew…it’s funny.

Last night I watched the season premiere online, because now tha I know one of the Bachelors, I figured I had to check it out.  Well, as much as I’d like Eric to stay on the show for a while, mostly because it’s too funny to watch someone you know personally on a reality show, still, I don’t think he’ll make it very far.  The fact that he’s greek will keep him around for a little bit, but he’s just not coming across as very warm, or interesting, or even all that interested in Deanna besides the fact that she’s greek, you know?

Then there’s the previews of upcoming episodes and the fact that he’s not in any of them.  And then there’s this article in a local newspaper today, which makes it pretty clear he didn’t stay to the end (unless he’s trying to throw everyone off, but I don’t get that impression). 

Anyway, now that I’ve watched the one episode, I’ve picked some of my favorites to win, and know I’ll be watching the show…so that means I’ll also be recapping it here at Cafe Karina.  Come on back next Monday night (or possiby Tuesday, since I start my new job next week) for my recap, and maybe I’ll share some of my college photos of Eric.

Leave a Reply

