So You Think You Can Tell Me what the heck IV Real stands for?

There are only 8 dancers left, and we’re two weeks away from the finale.  Holy Crap…two weeks?  Did this season go by fast or what?  And seriously, what exactly does the IV Real we keep seeing on all their shirts, and hearing them talk about stand for anyway?  Anyone?

Once again, this week the couples are all mixed up.  The first couple of the night is going to be Will and Courtney, doing a samba.  And it was HOT HOT HOT.  I loved it.  I do have to say that Courtney’s outfit was actually distracting and annoyed me, but other than that, I thought it was a great perfomance.  They had great chemistry, and made it look fun and steamy.

Then it was time for the first solo of the night, and it belonged to Comfort.  I’m still not the biggest fan of her solos, but it was good.  It just didn’t blow me away.

The next couple of the night would be Twitch and Katee, doing a contemporary routine, choreographed by Mia Michaels.  Wow.  No doubt that Mia Michaels is a freakin’ amazing choreographer.  Seriously!  From the full-on liplock to the serious fighting, to the door slamming it was crazy.  Crazy good.  Their performance was fantastic.  They were in it 110%, and the dancing was great…they moved so seamlessly and it was just great!  LOVED IT!

So far this night is shaping up as my favorite this season.

The next solo is Will’s.  And I LOVED IT!  Loved it because he took the opportunit to have fun with it, don a costume and a wig) get into character and STILL blow us away.  Without a doubt he is THE ONE to beat!

The next couple is Mark and Comfort with a hip-hop routine by Tabitha and Napoleon.  Another great, fun performance.  Comfort definitely had the upper hand in this routine, and I was about to type the words “she is such a better dancer when she has choreography”, which I believe I’ve said before, but then Nigel said that same exact thing.  Mark wasn’t as “hard” but I still thought he was fantastic…both of them were…I loved this one as well.

What a great night this is.

The next solo is Katee’s, and she always has beautiful solos.  She has great lines, and always shows such emotion in her solos.  Love her.

The final couple is Joshua and Chelsie,doing an Argentine Tango choreographed by former contestant Dimitri. Wow!  Once again…another great performance.  Chelsie is just amazing, and I would say she stole the show, but Joshua totally rocked it too…so it was fantastic.

Mark’s is the next solo.  He is unique, he is quirky, but he is also good and a pleasure to watch.

For their second dance of the evening, Courtney and Will are doing a “slow” hip-hop routine, choreographed by Tabitha and Will.  And again, the song ended and I heard myself saying “Wow”.  I really enjoyed this one too.  It was just a very emotional piece and they totally had it and it was powerful and beautiful and I loved it.  LOVED IT!!!

Chelsie takes on the next solo.  I usually love her solos, but tonight’s I wasn’t all that impressed by it…we know you can shake your hips and twirl around…but is that all you’ve got?  It was sort of redundant.

Katee and Twitch’s second routine is a Broadway piece by Tyce Diorio.  I’ve said before that Broadway routines are not my favorite, and they are not.  However, I really enjoyed this one.  I thought it was fun, but it also had some great moves and a fun story line.  And I thought they did a fantastic job.  Twitch, the “hip hop” guy, is so good at all these styles.  And Katee is just fantastic.  LOVE IT.

What a night!

Next doing his solo is Joshua.  His solos are always entertaining.  He’s such a cutie, don’t you always want to just pinch his cheeks?  But, I do love to watch his solos.

Then it was time for Courtney’s solo…she’s my favorite female soloist tonight.  Again it’s the emotion she puts into her solos…

One more solo, and it’s Twitch.  Not my favorite Twitch solo by far, I think he winged it tonight, didn’t choreograph it at all, and it wasn’t his best.  Still good, but not his best.

Next to a Jean-Marc choreographed Foxtrot for Comfort and Mark.  Not bad, not bad at all.  They didn’t blow me away, but they were pretty good.  The first routine of the niht that didn’t “wow” me, but it was good.

The final performance of the night is Joshua and Chelsie’s Disco routine.  I’ve questioned before why there are disco routines on this show, since NOBODY does disco anymore, but this could have actually been a fantastic routine. But in all honesty, as much as I love Joshua and Chelsie, I thought this routine was a bit sloppy.  Some of the tricks and lifts were amazing, but some of the basic steps were just a little sloppy, and Joshua even had a mistep that was almost a “fall”.  Still, it was fun, and I think that the amazing lifts saved it, because they were CRAZY good.

Overall, tonight was definitely the best night of the season.  FANTASTIC!!!!

Who will go home?  I think Comfort and Mark are in danger again, but then, America is voting, so anything can happen.  Tune in and stop on by tomorrow for the results.

And anyone…IV Real??

2 responses to “So You Think You Can Tell Me what the heck IV Real stands for?

  1. for real – IV(roman numeral 4)real

    will is the only one wearing that shirt, his girlfriend made it for him.

  2. Yeah, this week he was…but last week they all had them on. And they keep talking about it. I get the “for real” of it, I’m just curious where it all originated, you know…what the meaning behind it is…

    It’s not all that important (or I would probably have done a search for it already, lol) but more of a curiosity thing! haha…

    Thanks though.

Leave a Reply

