Tonight’s the Night!

If you have followed this blog (or Candid Karina) at all, then you know that I am a huge New Kids on The Block fan, and am unashamed to admit it.

A while back I blogged my excitement at their announced reunion tour and new cd to be realeased, but I’ve been sort of quiet about any follow up.  The reason for this is simply because well…I’ve been pretty much quiet blogging here at all all summer long. 

But should that make you think I haven’t followed this reunion very closely, let me set the record straight.  I have watched every interview and television special in the last few months.  I have visited their website on several different occasions.  I did go out and buy their new CD the day it was released, and yes, I do like it. AND yes, I bought tickets to their concert.

I have not sold my belongings to travel around the country following their tour.  I have not gone out and bought a t-shirt, and I can’t bring back out my old memorabilia, because, unfortunately, most of it died in a flood in 2005.  I did not camp out in New York City for the big Today show (but I was in town that day), and I really have no interest in stalking the boys at every visit in town.

I realize I’m in my 30’s and some semblance of control is therefore required.  In all honesty, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the youthful and silly feelings this reunion has brought out in me, and my friends and I are having a blast both reminiscing and planning our night out to the concert.  But that’s where it ends for me.  Most days I’m still a mature adult, who is enjoying the fun this is bringing, but at the end of the day, my feet are still firmly planted in reality. 

Except for tonight.  Because tonight, ladies and gents, is THE night.  Tonight, along with my friends BFF, M&M and The Cat, I am going to see the boys in concert, in their hometown, my college town, Boston, MA.

Tonight, I (along with my friends) will unabashedly act like star struck 13 year olds, all the while hoping our hoochie momma outfits will score us some attention so we can sneak our way backstage.  Tonight, all the rules of maturity and adulthood are firmly thrown out the window, and we indulge our inner teenie bopper aka groupie mentallity. 

TONIGHT, for one night, I get to fantasize all over again about how Donnie Wahlberg is going to see me from the stage, and fall madly deeply in love with me and want to marry me and have babies with me.  Just for tonight.

Tomorrow, well…tomorrow I upload the pictures to my computer and give you a concert review, and let my self slowly drift back down from the clouds, to reality.

But tonight?  OH MAN, you don’t want to stand in my way tonight…

 

Photo credit: NKOTB.com

Leave a Reply

